A Journey of Living from Glory to Glory

Survival When All Seems Hopeless – Worship

These past several months have been months of many personal trials and tribulations. Most of which have revealed masks and faces of me into whose eyes I would rather not have stared. It is obvious to me that I still have much to overcome in moving from my “old self” into victory and abundance. I have never lost my vision for what the grace of God is all about. I have no uncertainty that God can and will deliver me into a new self as He promises in His Word. What I struggle with is my own walk and ability to just let Him do His work.

You see, I never cease to amaze myself in my efforts to be contrary to God. I know that the struggles we all face in life are the result of our original fallen natures and the world in which we live. But sometimes I look at the lives of even the unsaved of the world and wonder why they seem so well adjusted and at relative peace with the world when my life seems to be filled with a personal war against my wretched self.

I am at the point where the walls that I must overcome are of such magnitude that only God can deal the victory. I require a momentous miracle in my life. Nothing I can do in the natural world can save me. The Apostle Paul seems to have best captured into words the crux of my own epic battle. I am sure that many others in the world share this grand brawl:

Paul says in Romans 7:18-25:
18 For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh) nothing good dwells; for to will is present with me, but how to perform what is good I do not find.
19 For the good that I will to do, I do not do; but the evil I will not to do, that I practice.
20 Now if I do what I will not to do, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me.
21 I find then a law, that evil is present with me, the one who wills to do good.
22 For I delight in the law of God according to the inward man.
23 But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members.
24 O wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death?
25 I thank God—through Jesus Christ our Lord!

Praise God that Jesus Christ is the deliverer! I have recently discovered that one way that He delivers us from ourselves is through worship. I truly believe that I would have totally succumbed to the way of death if I had not discovered worship as a means of survival. The Lord opened my eyes to a wonderful teacher named Norvel Hayes who has a special understanding of the magnificent place worship has for all of us. I began slowly at first, but soon found myself worshiping God any time that I could get through my own self-imposed resistance. The breakthrough has been miraculous. In times where my mind turns to all of my circumstances that are indeed hopeless by worldly standards, I enter into a time of worship and I am lifted high into the hope, joy, peace and comfort of His presence. And in doing this, He somehow causes things to change in my life in a manner that defies worldly explanation.

The times of my most intense worship started during nights when all else was quiet except for the horror movies playing through my mind that depicted my greatest fears, stresses, impending disasters, and past failures. I discovered that worship music was a means to my salvation and I frequently played it all night long. Whenever I could not sleep or awoke in a fit of anxiety, I would simply sing along, worshiping and praising God for who He is. And every time I did this, I began to feel peace and hope being restored. I was always comforted to the point of being able to sleep soundly throughout the rest of the night. As I continue to face tough situations I also continue to play these songs all night, every night. I have been particularly touched by some of the music by Hillsong United and Gateway Worship (see the video below). Music will obviously continue to be a crucial part in my every-night worship experience.

God is so faithful to heal and deliver each of us. If you need some uncommon peace in your life, give worship a try, and try some music that helps you think about the Glory of God!

 

 

Music Video is from the official post on YouTube by Vevo and is by Gateway Worship performing O The Blood. (C) 2010 Gateway Create Publishing

Scripture: The New King James Version (NKJV). (1996). Nashville, TN: Thomas Nelson, Inc.

One response

  1. Yes & Amen!! Thank you! It is best prescription 4 any need!!!
    Tried & true in my life,too!!! Hallelujah & Amen!!! Our God reigns, press in…draw near to HIM, HE WILL draw near to YOU! AMEN

    May 10, 2015 at 3:39 pm

Share Your Thoughts!!!

